US Biotechnology and regulatory framework

Biotechnology in the United States is regulated by at least five Federal agencies in a Coordinated Framework:

1. The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

2. Department of Agriculture (USDA)

3. National Institutes of Health (NIH)

4. The Occupational Safety and Hazard Administration (OSHA) and

5. To a small extent the Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Major Laws that Empower Federal Agencies to Regulate Biotechnology
Law Agency
The Plant Protection Act USDA
The Meat Inspection Act USDA
The Poultry Products Inspection Act USDA
The Eggs Products Inspection Act USDA
The Virus Serum Toxin Act USDA
The Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act EPA
The Toxic Substances Control Act EPA
The Food, Drug, and Cosmetics Act FDA, EPA
The Public Health Service Act FDA
The Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act FDA
The National Environmental Protection Act USDA, EPA, FDA
Source: Pew Initiative on Food and Biotechnology

Click here for more


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: