ISO 17025

June 4, 2008

Quality System Standards were developed in various countries in the 1960’s and 1970’s. The MIL-Q-9858A in the United States in 1963 and the BS 5750 in the United Kingdom in 1979 are probably the most important ones. The ISO 9000 series of quality standards have been established in 1987 for implementing and maintaining a quality system which is internationally accepted.

ISO/IEC 17025:2005 is applicable to all laboratories regardless of the number of personnel or the extent of the scope of testing and/or calibration activities. When a laboratory does not undertake one or more of the activities covered by ISO/IEC 17025:2005, such as sampling and the design/development of new methods, the requirements of those clauses do not apply.

The Contents of ISO 17025

The ISO 17025 standard itself is comprised of 5 elements:

1. Scope
2. Normative References
3. Terms and Definitions
4. Management Requirements
5. Technical Requirements

Click here to learn more

Source: ComplianceOnline