Cell Phone Policy California: goes into effect

July 2, 2008

Starting today the California Wireless Telephone Automobile Safety Act (S.B. 1613) signed by Governor Schwarzenegger goes into effect.

The new law will make it illegal to drive while using a cell phone unless the phone is configured to allow hands-free listening and talking and is used in that manner while driving. Violations of the law carry a fine of $20 for the first offense and $50 for subsequent offenses.

Having a written policy in place that addresses your organization’s expectations for cell phone use during working hours and while driving on company business is essential–especially if you have employees who regularly drive as part of their jobs and frequently need to make business calls while on the road.

Source: Cal/OSHA Compliance Advisor


Powered Industrial Trucks: California’s Requirements for Equipment, Workplace Postings, Safe Operation, and Training

June 26, 2008

According to federal OSHA’s most recent statistics, more than 90,000 workers each year are injured, and 100 workers die, in forklift accidents. Workers are killed when a forklift tips over, when a forklift collides with pedestrians, when the worker is crushed by a forklift, or when the worker falls from a forklift.

This Special Report will help you navigate Cal/OSHA’s sometimes—confusing industrial truck standards, which are arranged differently than federal OSHA’s regulation and have different specific requirements. This Report will also help you ensure that your equipment meets Cal/OSHA standards by providing a comprehensive checklist you can use to inspect your equipment. Safe operating rules—which must be posted in the workplace—and training and instruction requirements are all thoroughly explained.

Download the entire report (PDF)

You can check ComplianceOnline for more OSHA related webinars from experts